Jostens winners announced


Trey Bardsley, of Nebraska Wesleyan, and Holly Denfeld of Milwaukee School of Engineering will be awarded the 2016 Jostens Trophy.

The Jostens Trophy is a national award created by the Salem Rotary Club to honor the most outstanding men's and women's NCAA Division III basketball players of the year. The award takes into account three vital parts: basketball ability, academic prowess, and community service. The trophy models the Rotary International motto of "Service Above Self" by recognizing those who truly fit the ideal of the well-rounded NCAA Division III student-athlete. This year's class marks the 19th year the award has been presented.

Bardsley and Denfeld will receive their awards at a presentation on Thursday, March 17 at the Salem Civic Center in Salem, Va., in conjunction with the Division III Final Four.

Bardsley is actually playing for the Prairie Wolves in the NAIA Divsion II national tournament. He has set the school record for single season scoring (835) points, single season 3-pointers (138) and career 3-pointers. 

Nebraska Wesleyan, which holds dual membership in the NAIA and NCAA for one final year, played just four games vs. Division III basketball opponents this season.

Denfeld led the conference in scoring at 19.7 points per game, three points better than any other player, as well as field goal percentage with a school-record 58.4 percent shooting from the field. She is also third in the conference in rebounding at 9.7 rebounds per game and posted 12 double-doubles this season. Denfeld has maintained a 4.00 grade point average as an architectural engineering and construction management major.

All-time Jostens Trophy winners

Year Men Women
1998 Michael Nogelo, Williams Alicia Moore, Emory
1999 Michael Shantz, Hamilton Kristen Venne, Susquehanna
2000 Korey Coon, Illinois Wesleyan Alia Fischer, Washington U.
2001 David Jannuzzi, Wilkes Alison Grubbs, Lake Forest
2002 Adam Jones, Buena Vista Heather Kile, Swarthmore
2003 Derek Reich, Chicago Whitney Bull, Wilkes
2004 Justin Call, Emory and Henry Kay Mikolajczak, UW-Oshkosh
2005 Jon-David Byers, Lebanon Valley Tara Rohde, Trinity (Texas)
2006 Chris Braier, Lawrence Megan Silva, Randolph-Macon
2007 Ryan Cain, WPI Lisa Winkle, Calvin
2008 Troy Ruths, Washington U. Tarra Richardson, McMurry
2009 Jimmy Bartolotta, MIT Melanie Auguste, Colorado College
2010 Blake Schultz, Williams Julia Hirssig, UW-Stout
2011 Steve Djurickovic, Carthage Elizabeth Sunderhaus, Cedar Crest
2012 Aris Wurtz, Ripon Taylor Simpson, Chicago
2013 Colton Hunt, Randolph Carissa Verkaik, Calvin
2014 Richie Bonney, Hobart Katelyn Fischer, Marymount
2015 George Bugarinovic, Johns Hopkins Jess Rheinheimer, Eastern Mennonite
2016 Trey Bardsley, Nebraska Wesleyan Holly Denfeld, MSOE
Winners by conference
  CC 1, CCIW 2, IIAC 1, LL 1, MACC 1,
ASC 1, CAC 1, CC 1, CSAC 1, MACC 1,
MACF 1, MIAA 2, MWC 1, NACC 1,