Jostens Trophy finalists announced

Katie McDaniels is one of the 10 women's finalists for the 2017 Jostens Trophy.
Wheaton (Ill.) athletics photo by Katie Rohrer

The Salem (Va.) Rotary Club announced the 20 finalists for the prestigious Jostens Trophy. The Trophy is awarded annually to one men's and one women's Division III basketball player based on their athletic performance, academic achievements and community service.

The following finalists were selected based on the Salem Rotary Club's review of nominations.

Men's finalists Women's finalists

Harrison Blackledge, Hope
Sam Borst-Smith, Rochester
AJ Edwards, Marietta
Brandon Federici, Franklin and Marshall
Evan Greening, Pitt-Bradford
DeShawn Lowman, Neumann
Armin Omanovic, Lasell
Matt St. Amour, Middlebury
Zach Wallace, Rockford
Steven Weidlich, Susquehanna

Cary Beahm, Roanoke
Ali Doswell, Amherst
Sara Dyslin, Hendrix
Mikaela Eppard, Elmhurst
Alexandra Leslie, Rochester
Katie McDaniels, Wheaton (Ill.)
Camille McPherson, Moravian
Lisa Murphy, Carnegie Mellon
Sara Tarbert, Stevenson
Kelsey Tietje, Defiance

Last year's winners were Holly Denfeld, who just completed her senior season at Milwaukee School of Engineering, and Trey Bardsley of Nebraska Wesleyan.

Accordint to the Club's release, its Jostens Trophy Committee employs a numerical rating to narrow the list of finalists so that the decision can be made on the most objective basis possible.  The 20 finalists continue through the review process, with a national selection committee of 32 individuals charged with determining the two winners of the 2017 Josten Trophy honors.

The two winners will be announced March 10 and the trophies will be presented March 16, a day before the men's basketball national semifinals are played in Salem, Virginia.

All-time Jostens Trophy winners

Year Men Women
1998 Michael Nogelo, Williams Alicia Moore, Emory
1999 Michael Shantz, Hamilton Kristen Venne, Susquehanna
2000 Korey Coon, Illinois Wesleyan Alia Fischer, Washington U.
2001 David Jannuzzi, Wilkes Alison Grubbs, Lake Forest
2002 Adam Jones, Buena Vista Heather Kile, Swarthmore
2003 Derek Reich, Chicago Whitney Bull, Wilkes
2004 Justin Call, Emory and Henry Kay Mikolajczak, UW-Oshkosh
2005 Jon-David Byers, Lebanon Valley Tara Rohde, Trinity (Texas)
2006 Chris Braier, Lawrence Megan Silva, Randolph-Macon
2007 Ryan Cain, WPI Lisa Winkle, Calvin
2008 Troy Ruths, Washington U. Tarra Richardson, McMurry
2009 Jimmy Bartolotta, MIT Melanie Auguste, Colorado College
2010 Blake Schultz, Williams Julia Hirssig, UW-Stout
2011 Steve Djurickovic, Carthage Elizabeth Sunderhaus, Cedar Crest
2012 Aris Wurtz, Ripon Taylor Simpson, Chicago
2013 Colton Hunt, Randolph Carissa Verkaik, Calvin
2014 Richie Bonney, Hobart Katelyn Fischer, Marymount
2015 George Bugarinovic, Johns Hopkins Jess Rheinheimer, Eastern Mennonite
2016 Trey Bardsley, Nebraska Wesleayn Holly Denfield, Milwaukee Engineering
Winners by conference
  CC 1, CCIW 2, IIAC 1, IND 1, LL 1,

ASC 1, CAC 1, CC 1, CSAC 1,
MACC 1, MACF 1, MIAA 2, MWC 1,