Rosters announced for Reese's All-Star game

Andy Winters was this year's Great Lakes Region of the Year.
OWU athletics photo by Rex Walker

The National Association of Basketball Coaches has announced rosters for the 2013 Reese’s® Division III College All-Star game. Reese’s® Peanut Butter Cups are the official candy partner of the NCAA.

The Reese’s Division III College All-Star game will be played on Saturday, March 23, at 3:30 p.m. ET, prior to the NCAA Division III semifinals at the Salem Civic Center in Salem, Va. The teams are composed of two senior student-athletes from each of the eight regions in Division III nominated by coaches and selected by a panel of coaches representing each region in Division III.

Two more senior student-athletes, Jake Galow of Rhodes and Spencer Niekamp of Capital, were selected by online voting on with more than 86,000 votes cast by Division III fans in a 48-hour span.

This year’s NCAA Division III championship game will be played at Philips Arena in Atlanta, at 12:30 p.m. on Sunday, April 7. The game is being played as the NCAA is celebrating 75 years of March Madness®.

The Reese’s All-Star game will feature a pair of outstanding former coaches who have both been recipients of the NABC Division III Distinguished Service Award. Former York (Pa.) coach Jeff Gamber will lead the East team, while former Albion coach Mike Turner will coach the West team.

Division III is the largest membership division in the NCAA, with approximately 450 member schools, 43 voting conferences and more than 170,000 student-athletes.

The rosters:

Reese’sWEST ALL-STAR TEAMCoach: Mike Turner, Albion College

Name No. Ht., Wt.
Pos. School
Tahrike Carter 3 6-2, 180 G Rhode Island College
Taylor Hall 5 6-8, 227 F Bethel
Tony Vails 10 6-0, 160 G York (N.Y.)
Alex Berthiaume 12 5-11, 175 G Springfield
Andy Winters 14 6-0, 185 G Ohio Wesleyan
Ian Jackson 23 6-1, 175 G Trine
Tyler Wedemeier 31 6-9, 225 C Luther
Stephon Treadwell 33 6-5, 220 F Ramapo
Spencer Niekamp 40 6-6, 210 F Capital

West Coach - Mike Turner, 2009 NABC Distinguished Service Award Recipient

Coaching the West squad is the 2009 winner of the NABC Distinguished Service Award, Mike Turner. He was head coach at Albion College for 38 seasons and completed his coaching career with a record of 527-319, the most victories of any coach in program history. The former chair of the NCAA Division III men’s basketball committee, Turner led his teams to four NCAA Division III tournaments and finished third in the nation in 1978 and owns. Turner and his wife Peg, a grade school teacher, also founded the Albion College Student-Athlete Mentoring Program in which Albion student-athletes tutor, read, and mentor more than 250 grade school children annually.

Reese’sEAST ALL-STAR TEAMCoach: Jeff Gamber, York College

NAME No. Ht., Wt.
Pos. School
Stefan Thompson 1 5-10, 160 G Hobart
Colton Hunt 10 6-2, 200 G Randolph
John DiBartolomeo 12 6-0, 175 G Rochester
Andrew Galow 20 6-5, 192 G Rhodes
Jake Schwarz 21 6-5, 225 F Lakeland
Chris Kearney 22 6-7, 220 F Catholic
Brandon Givens 23 6-6, 205 G/F N.C. Wesleyan
Paul Reynolds 31 6-4, 245 F Wesley
Ethan Spurlin 32 6-4, 215 F Transylvania

East Coach – Jeff Gamber, 1997 NABC Distinguished Service Award Recipient

Coaching the East squad is the 1997 winner of the NABC Distinguished Service Award, Jeff Gamber. He was head coach at York (Pa.) for 36 seasons and finished with a 493-425 record as the all-time leader in career wins at York. Gamber is the former chair of the NCAA Division III men’s basketball committee and was also honored as the NABC Division III National Coach of the Year in 2005, as he led York to the NCAA semifinals. He developed the “Three Point Attack” program, which helped raise funds for cancer research and the NABC Coaches vs. Cancer program.