Galow, Niekamp win All-Star fan vote

More news about: Capital | Rhodes
Rhodes, Capital athletics photos

Capital's Spencer Niekamp and Rhodes' Andrew Galow won the 2013 Reese’s® Division III College All-Star Game fan voting and will represent their teams March 23 in Salem, Va.

The All-Star Game, now in its fourth season, takes place before the Division III men's basketball national semifinals.

A total of 86,093 votes were cast online during 48 hours of balloting. The full results appear below.

The remainder of the rosters will be announced next week, after the Sweet 16 round games are complete. The pair will join the top two seniors in each region, as selected by an NABC panel.

Niekamp, a first-team All-Great Lakes Region selection, averaged 15.3 points per game for the Crusaders, who finished the season 19-7. He averaged 5.5 rebounds and shot 47.2 percent from 3-point range.

Galow, picked to the All-South Region second team, averaged 16.2 points and 3.4 assists for Rhodes, shooting 47 percent from the floor and 82 percent from the foul line.

Final tally: Who should play in the 2013 Reese's NABC All-Star Game?

Andrew Galow, Rhodes (28104) 32%

Spencer Niekamp, Capital (23315) 27%

Wes Nordquist, Buena Vista (12387) 14%

Tahrike Carter, Rhode Island College (11472) 13%

Hayden Ward, Oswego State (7091) 8%

Dave Singleton, Albright (1735) 2%

Isaiah Holman, John Jay (1031) 1%

Jake Schwarz, Lakeland (958) 1%