Sweet 16 hosts announced

Jordan Nelson scored a game-high 20 for Illinois Wesleyan on Saturday to keep the Titans in the tournament.
IWU athletics photo by Jeff Findley 
Which women's host is most likely to get knocked off?
Which men's host is most likely to get knocked off?
Illinois Wesleyan
Mary Washington
UW-Stevens Point

Tufts, FDU-Florham, DePauw and Whitman will host the women's sectional round, while the men's sectionals will be hosted at Amherst, Mary Washington, Illinois Wesleyan and UW-Stevens Point.

Dickinson knocking off Wooster in the Round of 32 on Saturday night means the NCAA has to spring for an extra flight in order to get them to any of the other three contenders, regardless of who hosts. But that pales in comparison to the women's lower right bracket. With Texas-Tyler knocking off Rhodes, that made that entire sectional a flight for each of the four teams.

In the NCAA world, all flights are not created equal. Trips of a certain distance require charter rather than commercial flights. However, the NCAA put the extra expense into flying three teams to Whitman, rather than flying commercial to a central location in Thomas More.

It's the first time a Northwest Conference team has hosted a women's sectional since 2006, when Ranodolph-Macon, UW-Stout and Hardin-Simmons played at Pacific Lutheran. Tufts hosting ends a streak of five consecutive years the Amherst women have hosted a sectional.

Mary Washington was selected as host because only it and Albertus Magnus are within 500 miles of all four teams remaining in the bracket. Albertus Magnus' gym doesn't meet the minimum seating requirements.

Women's sectional hosts: 41% success rate

Since the format of the NCAA Tournament changed in the 2000 season, all four sectional hosts have advanced to the Final Four just once in 14 seasons. On two occasions, none of the four sectional hosts have advanced. Teams in bold advanced to the Final Four.

2014 Tufts FDU-Florham DePauw Whitman
2013 Amherst Williams DePauw UW-Whitewater
2012 Amherst Mary Washington Mount Union Chicago
2011 Amherst Lebanon Valley Thomas More UW-Stevens Point
2010 Amherst Kean Illinois Wesleyan Washington U.
2009 Amherst Rochester Thomas More Illinois Wesleyan
2008 Kean Messiah UW-Whitewater Howard Payne
2007 Emmanuel NYU Scranton Luther
2006 Southern Maine Scranton DePauw Pacific Lutheran
2005 Southern Maine Scranton Randolph-Macon Calvin
2004 Bowdoin Marymount Thomas More UW-Stevens Point
2003 King's Rochester UW-Eau Claire Hardin-Simmons
2002 Springfield Salisbury Wilmington UW-Stevens Point
2001 NYU TCNJ Baldwin-Wallace St. Thomas
2000 Rowan St. Lawrence Washington U. Hardin-Simmons

Men's sectional hosts: 46% success rate

Since 2000, all four sectional hosts have never advanced to the Final Four, although on three separate occasions, three teams have advanced. There has never been a year in which no sectional host moved on. In 2013, there were no sectionals because of the tournament format. Teams in bold advanced to the Final Four.

2014 Amherst Mary Washington Illinois Wesleyan UW-Stevens Point
2013 None      
2012 Middlebury Franklin & Marshall Wooster UW-Whitewater
2011 Williams Rochester Wooster Augustana
2010 Williams St. Mary's (Md.) Guilford UW-Stevens Point
2009 Richard Stockton Franklin & Marshall John Carroll Wheaton (Ill.)
2008 Plattsburgh State Ursinus Hope Washington U.
2007 Amherst Virginia Wesleyan St. John Fisher UW-Stevens Point
2006 Amherst Virginia Wesleyan Wittenberg Lawrence
2005 Amherst Ramapo Albion UW-Stevens Point
2004 Williams Franklin & Marshall Wooster Puget Sound
2003 Williams Randolph-Macon Wooster Buena Vista
2002 Catholic Brockport State Otterbein Carthage
2001 Clark Christopher Newport Ohio Northern Chicago
2000 William Paterson Cortland State Calvin Buena Vista