It's official: NCAA names ref coordinators

The NCAA's newly appointed national coordinators will decide which officials work which games during the NCAA Tournament.
File photo by Dave Hilbert,


In an effort to improve the consistency of officiating in Division III basketball, the NCAA has named national coordinators of officials for men's and women's basketball.

The men's coordinator will be Jim Haney who has over 30 years of experience officiating NCAA men's basketball, including working games for Division I Sweet Sixteen and National Invitational Tournament (NIT) games. Mary Toberman, who has nearly two decades of officiating experience and worked the Division III national championship rounds in 2009 and 2013, will be the women's coordinator.

Both will oversee officials for all of Division III, work to ensure that officiating is consistent across Division III's sprawling landscape and select officials for the entire NCAA Tournament. The NCAA's release announcing Toberman's appointment notes she will be responsible for "[developing] a method to evaluate the officials' performance during the regular season and championship" and selecting officials for the tournament assignments based on recommendations from the individual conferences. 

On the men's side, Coast Guard Academy director of athletics Tim Fitzpatrick chaired the search committee that selected Haney. Fitzpatrick is also the new chair of the Division III men's basketball committee.

"During the interview process, Jim emerged from a very strong field of candidates as a clear choice for this position," Fitzpatrick said in the NCAA's release. "I have every confidence that he will work tirelessly to elevate men’s basketball officiating in Division III to a new level of expertise and competency.”

Haney joined Dave McHugh for a special edition of Hoopsville to discuss his new role and what it means for Division III basketball. You can hear the entire interview by click on the podcast below.