ODAC All-American to lead Ferrum men

More news about: Ferrum | Guilford
Tyler Sanborn has nine years of experience in the ODAC, which will be Ferrum's new conference in 2018-19. He spent five seasons as an assistant coach at Hampden-Sydney and four as a player at Guilford.
Guilford athletics photo

One week after announcing that it would join the Old Dominion Athletic Conference in 2018-19, Ferrum College announced that one of the best players in recent ODAC history will lead its men's basketball program. Tyler Sanborn, who was a two-time All-American at Guilford, will be the Panthers' next head coach.

Ferrum Director of Athletics Abe Naff announced the hiring on Monday.

"I am thrilled to be able to join this amazing community that is Ferrum College," said Sanborn in the College's release. "From the moment I stepped on campus, I felt the sense of family that I was looking for. I look forward to helping lead this program to new heights and embracing the process of making the change to the Old Dominion Athletic Conference, which I have been a part of since my playing days."

Last week the ODAC announced that it will add Ferrum as a member for all sports in 2018-19.

Sanborn played four seasons at Guilford from 2006-07 through 2009-10. During that span the Quakers went 104-19 with two trips to the NCAA Tournament national semifinals in 2009 and 2010. Sanborn was an All-American and the South Region Player of the Year in 2009 and 2010. He also received Guilford's Nuereus C. English Athletic Leadership Award in recognition of outstanding athletic achievement and leadership.

After graduating in 2010, Sanborn participated in NBA training camps and played for the Los Angeles Lakers' summer league team. He also played professionally in Spain and France. He then spent five years as an assistant coach at Hampden-Sydney and established the Bigs on the Hill basketball camp for post players.

Sanborn replaces Bill Tharp who stepped down from the head coaching job after 12 seasons in April.

The Panthers went 10-15, 5-9 in the USA South Athletic Conference last season.