UR's Palestra named to Hall list

More news about: Rochester | Rochester
Louis A. Alexander Palestra, Home of the Yellowjackets

The Louis A. Alexander Palestra, home court for three sports at the University of Rochester, has been selected as one of the Top 125 basketball arenas by the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame has launched a project to showcase the top 125 arenas as part of its upcoming 125th anniversary. The Palestra was displayed on the Hall's website on Wednesday, September 14.
It has served as the home floor for the Yellowjackets since the 1930-31 season. It was originally dedicated as the Palestra on December 20, 1930. (In the dedication game, Cornell defeated Rochester, 39-21.) It was renamed for Rochester's  basketball coach and athletics director on December 6, 1968. Louis Alexander coached both basketball and baseball at Rochester. In a 26-year career as men's basketball coach, he compiled a record of 247 wins, 137 losses. His winning percentage was .643.
A series of banners hang at the fieldhouse end of the building, farthest from the front door. They represent the Rochester teams that have been selected for the NCAA playoffs in the three sports which use the Palestra as a home floor: men's basketball, women's basketball, and women's volleyball.
The Palestra hosted a five-overtime game against Union College on February 15, 1985 (99-98 UR). It hosted the championship game of 15 Wendy's Classic basketball tournaments for men (the tournament was previously known under several names, including Lincoln First Bank, Chase-Lincoln, and JPMorgan Chase). It hosted 11 Wendy's Classic championship games for women.
Rochester's men hosted the NCAA playoffs in 10 seasons in the playoffs. The first two were in the College Division (now Division II) playoffs in 1961-62 and 1967-68. UR has hosted the Division III playoffs in eight seasons, including two Sweet 16s (1991-92, 2010-11).
The Yellowjacket women have played in NCAA Division III playoff competition in eight seasons at home. Rochester hosted two Sweet 16s: in 2002-03 and in 2008-09.
Women's volleyball hosted NCAA playoffs in 1993 and 1995.