UMHB women fall to U.T.-Tyler in ASC Championship Game

More news about: Mary Hardin-Baylor

Tyler, Texas – The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor women's basketball team could not overcome a cold stretch to open the second half as the Cru fell to U.T.-Tyler 68-56 in the American Southwest Conference Tournament Championship Game Sunday in Tyler. UMHB was making its third appearance in the ASC title game and first since 2006.

The first half was back-and-forth through the first half before UMHB opened up a 31-24 lead with 1:53 remaining in the first half. The Patriots would cut it to 31-27 at halftime. U.T.-Tyler then opened the second half with an 11-0 run to take a 38-31 lead. UMHB answered to retake the lead at 42-40, but Madison Wilson converted a three-point play to give the Patriots a 43-42 lead and the Cru never led again. U.T.-Tyler pulled away late as UMHB's comeback bid fell short.

Alyssa Dean topped the Cru with 19 points and she added three assists. Jonelle Smith added eight points and Jovana Miles and Kourtney Bevers chipped in seven points apiece. UMHB shot just 31 percent from the field in the second-half and finished at 36 percent for the game. The Cru also turned the ball over 22 times in the loss and were out rebounded 34-27.

Brittany King led the Patriots with 21 points on 9-11 shooting. Taylor Murphy added 11 points and U.T.-Tyler shot 45 percent from the field as a team.

The loss ends the Cru's season at 18-10 overall. UMHB was the #3 seed in the ASC Tournament and advanced to the conference championship game after being picked to finish ninth in the league's Preseason Coaches' and Media Poll. The loss also closed out the standout playing career of the Cru's lone senior, Jovana Miles. Miles and Macy Moore represented UMHB on the ASC All-Tournament Team.

U.T.-Tyler improves to 25-3 with the win and claims its first ASC Women's Basketball Championship. The Patriots will now advance to the NCAA Division III National Championships for the first time and will find out their opponent when the tournament field is announced Monday afternoon.